Globo acts fast and closes with five clubs after TNT withdrew from Brasileirão


On Thursday (7), Globo signed a contract with five clubs that had a pay-TV agreement with TNT Sports for Brasileirão – the American company withdrew from the main national club championship starting next year. Santos, Juventude, Ceará, Fortaleza and Coritiba accepted the proposal.

as the TV news added this week, the two clubs from Ceará already had well-advanced talks with Globo to migrate their rights to SporTV. Now the deal has been confirmed.

The new bonds are valid between 2022 and 2024. According to the model offered, teams will receive money in a new payment model: 40% are paid equally between clubs, 30% by the number of matches shown, and the other 30% by ranking final in the Championship. On TNT Sports, 50% was distributed equally, 25% by the match audience and 25% by the final classification.

As a result, only Palmeiras, Athletico-PR and Bahia continue without a pay-TV contract. Globo has already made proposals for all of them. The report found that the best-tracked agreement is that of the Tricolor da Boa Terra, which should be the next one to be announced. Only small details and the signature of the document are missing.

With the new contracts, Globo’s pay TV payment pie for next year increases to R$425 million (each club receives something in the region of R$25 million just for the agreements with SporTV. the contract remains to be signed, the amount distributed reaches R$ 500 million.

The column also confirmed that the five contracts have already been made based on the new Mandating Law, which gives the home team the ability to negotiate a soccer match in Brasileirão. With this, for example, SporTV will be able to show Santos x Palmeiras on pay TV without problems, even without Alviverde having a contract.

Globo has a contract signed until 2024 for broadcasting on open TV for all clubs in the Serie A and for showing on pay-per-view games for 19 teams – the exception is Athletico-PR, which signed an agreement with Prime Time Zone and it has its own system, which works through an injunction in court.

On closed TV, Ceará, Coritiba, Fortaleza, Juventude and Santos will join America-MG, Atlético-GO, Atlético-MG, Bragantino, Chapecoense, Corinthians, Cuiabá, Flamengo, Fluminense, Grêmio, Internacional, São Paulo next year and Sport, with which Globo already had a contract, as well as teams that are in Series B this year, such as Cruzeiro, Vasco and Botafogo.

Read Globo’s full press release:

“Globo signed an agreement with Santos, Juventude, Ceará, Fortaleza and Coritiba (current leader of Série B) for the rights to broadcast the Campeonato Brasileiro on SporTV, on pay TV, for the period 2022 to 2024. The negotiations took place within of the 2019-24 revenue sharing model we developed in partnership with clubs for Series A.

It is a model established for this contractual cycle in order to build a clear, collective standard with advances in balance –40% of the amounts divided equally between all clubs, 30% according to the team’s performance and another 30% by the number of TV appearances.”