Neymar is the only Brazilian among the finalists in the Golden Ball; see list – Young Pan


Champion of the Euro Cup, Italy had four players among the competitors, namely: Jorginho, Barella, Bonucci and Chiellini; Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are also in the fight

Lucas Figueiredo/CBF – 13/10/202Neymar is in the fight for the Golden Ball

A France Football released this Friday afternoon, 8, the list of thirty finalists for the award Golden Ball 2021, one of the most traditional in world football. Among the competitors, the only Brazilian is the forward Neymar, do Paris Saint Germain, is in the fight for the coveted trophy once again. Champion of the Euro Cup, Italy had four players among the competitors, namely: Jorginho, Stretcher, Bonucci e Chiellini. Lionel Messi, the biggest winner of the six-cup awards, is in the running after helping Argentina out of a nearly thirty-year-old streak of titles. Cristiano Ronaldo, in turn, was also mentioned. It is worth remembering that the list was drawn up by 180 journalists specialized in the subject.

See the 2021 Golden Ball finalists:

  • César Azpilicueta (Chelsea/Spain)
  • Nicolo Barella (International / Italy)
  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus / Italy)
  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City / Belgium)
  • Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus / Italy)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United/Portugal)
  • Rúben Dias (Manchester City/Portugal)
  • Gianluiggi Donnarumma (PSG / Italy)
  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United/Portugal)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester city / Inglaterra)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund / Norway)
  • Jorginho (Chelsea/Italy)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham/England)
  • N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea/France)
  • Simon Kjaer (Milan/Dinamarca)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea/Bélgica)
  • Ryad Mahrez (Manchester City / Argélia)
  • Lautaro Martínez (Internazionale / Argentina)
  • Kylian Mbappé (PSG/France)
  • Lionel Messi (PSG/Argentina)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)
  • Gerard Moreno (Villarreal/Spain)
  • Mason Mount (Chelsea/Inglaterra)
  • Neymar (PSG/Brazil)
  • Pedri (Barcelona/Spain)
  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egito)
  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City/Inglaterra)
  • Luis Suárez (Atlético de Madrid / Uruguai)

Check out all the Golden Ball champions:

1956: Stanley Matthews (Inglaterra)
1957: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Argentina)
1958: Raymond Kopa (France)
1959: Alfredo Di Stéfano (Spain)
1960: Luis Suárez (Spain)
1961: Omar Sivori (Italy)
1962: Josef Masopust (Czech Republic)
1963: Lev Yashin (URSS)
1964: Denis Law (Scotland)
1965: Eusébio (Portugal)
1966: Bobby Charlton (Inglaterra)
1967: Albert Flórián (Hungary)
1968: George Best (Northern Ireland)
1969: Gianni Rivera (Italy)
1970: Gerd Muller (Germany)
1971: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1972: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)
1973: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1974: Johan Cruyff (Netherlands)
1975: Oleg Blokhin (URSS)
1976: Franz Beckenbauer (Germany)
1977: Allan Simonsen (Denmark)
1978: Kevin Keegan (Inglaterra)
1979: Kevin Keegan (Inglaterra)
1980: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Alemanha)
1981: Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (Alemanha)
1982: Paolo Rossi (Italy)
1983: Michel Platini (France)
1984: Michel Platini (France)
1985: Michel Platini (France)
1986: Igor Belanov (USSR)
1987: Ruud Gullit (Netherlands)
1988: Marco van Basten (Holland)
1989: Marco van Basten (Holland)
1990: Lothar Matthäus (Alemanha)
1991: Jean-Pierre Papin (França)
1992: Marco van Basten (Holland)
1993: Roberto Baggio (Italy)
1994: Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
1995: George Weah (Liberia)
1996: Matthias Sammer (Germany)
1997: Ronaldo (Brazil)
1998: Zinedine Zidane (France)
1999: Rivaldo (Brazil)
2000: Luís Felipe Figo (Portugal)
2001: Michael Owen (Inglaterra)
2002: Ronaldo (Brazil)
2003: Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic)
2004: Andriy Shevchenko (Ucrânia)
2005: Ronaldinho Gaucho (Brazil)
2006: Fabio Cannavaro (Italy)
2007: Kaka (Brazil)
2008: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2009: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2010: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2011: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2012: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2013: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2014: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2015: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2016: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2017: Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
2018: Luka Modric (Croatia)
2019: Lionel Messi (Argentina)
2020: award canceled