Obama, Malala, European Union: See the latest Nobel Peace Prize winners


The Nobel organization announced this Friday, 8, that journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitri Muratov were the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize 2021.

The first Nobel Peace Prize was awarded in 1901, after a request made in the will of Alfred Nobel, who would die in 1896. Nobel was a Swedish chemist, inventor and entrepreneur, and a controversial figure for having invented explosives that would be widely used in warfare.

The Nobel organization does not officially release the name of the nominee, and the choice of winners is made by a committee based in Oslo, Norway.

To date, four former US presidents have won the Nobel Peace Prize (Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Jimmy Carter e Barack Obama). The country is also the country with the highest number of Nobel Prize winners, including in other categories, with more than 370 awarded. Then come the United Kingdom, Germany and France.

The most recent recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize in South America was the former president of Colombia, Juan Manuel Santos, by the peace agreements with the FARC. Including all categories, they have citizens or organizations awarded with a Nobel, in addition to Colombia, Argentina, Chile, Peru and Venezuela.

See the latest Nobel Peace Prize winners:

2020: The 2020 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the United Nations World Food Programme, “for its efforts to combat hunger, for its contribution to improving peace conditions in conflict-affected areas and for acting as a driving force in efforts to prevent the use of hunger as a weapon of war and conflict”.